Rollie Baguisa Skips Glove Tap, Punches David Hicks
The co-main event at Hidden Talent MMA’s “Who’s Next: Round 5,” pitted Energy MMA’s Rollie Baguisa against David Hicks. This fight started before the opening bell.
Baguisa entered the cage first, and took his place in his corner. When Hicks entered, he did a lap around the cage. As Hicks neared, Baguisa put up his hand for a glove tap. Hicks did not see it and kept going with his lap until he settled in his corner. I was sitting at the media table right below Baguisa’s corner, and I don’t think Hicks ever saw Baguisa put up for his glove.
It must have bothered Baguisa though, because when the first round began, Baguisa ignored Hicks’ signal to tap gloves and instead thew a right-hand that landed.
Right after that happened, Hicks’ corner was up in arms, and according to one of the officials, a member of his corner had to be removed. You can see this taking place right after Baguisa lands that first punch.
After the round ended, Hicks expressed his displeasure to Baguisa, then walked right out of the cage, giving Baguisa the win. Hicks’ corner also complained to referee Otto Torriero that he should have done something about the incident, but he made it clear that their is no rule regarding glove taps, and that all fighters are instructed to protect themselves at all times.
Baguisa did apologize in his post-fight interview.