Local Events

APFC 17 Results



APFC 17 - Brian Houston vs. Louis Taylor

by Jason Belyew and Matt Lo Cascio

APFC 17 went down at the Sears Centre Saturday night, with Chicago Fight Team’s Louis Taylor submitting former UFC fighter Brian Houston in the main event. Taylor locked in a guillotine that forced Houston to tap just over two minutes into the first round. Taylor received a $1,000 bonus for submission of the night and ran his winning streak to four.

Promoter Rich Seldal told Chicago’s MMA there were 4,200 fans in attendance for the show. Those fans saw Steve Kozola knock out local favorite Danny Morales in the first round, with Kozola scoring the knockout of the night and the $1k bonus. He remains undefeated at 3-0.

Gilbert Shamoun and Sinatra Pool were awarded fight of the night, but as amateurs were not allowed to receive a payout. Instead, pros Lorenzo Hood and Horacio Gutierrez each received $500 performance of the night bonuses. Hood scored an early first round TKO over Jesseray Childrey, and Gutierrez choked out Jose Veredugo in round two of their fight.

Khuseyn Kurbanov retained his APFC amateur flyweight title, while Pool, Johnny Odisho and Kyle Casey also won APFC amateur titles.

Results from APFC 17 at the Sears Centre on October 11, 2014

Pro Card

David Crowe vs Patrick Kassing- David Crowe wins via Unanimous decision (145lb)
Joshua Estrada vs Brian Booth- Brian Booth wins via rear naked choke 1:59 Round 2 (195lb Catch Fight)
Lester “Trey” Cole vs Jose Mariscal- Jose Mariscal wins via triangle choke 1:14 into Round 1 (155lb)
Jesseray Childrey vs Lorenzo Hood- Lorenzo Hood wins TKO (ref stoppage) :50 into Round 1 (HWT)
Daniel Vizcaya vs Yousef Al-Ghoul – Daniel Vizcaya wins via unanimous decision (181lb)
Jose Verdugo vs Horacio Gutierrez- Horacio Gutierrez wins 2:19 Round 1 due to rear naked choke (145lb)
Eric Calderon vs Mike Santiago- Mike Santiago wins via armbar 3:30 Round 1 (150lb)
Steve Kozola vs Danny Morales Jr-  Steve Kozola wins via KO 1:56 Round 1
Brian Houston vs Louis Taylor- Louis Taylor wins via Guillotine Choke 2:14 Round 1

Amateur Card

Avaz Achilov vs Rufus Elston- Avaz Achilov wins via Decision (185lbs)
James Bailey vs Michael Williams- Michael Williams wins via Guillotine Choke (125lbs)
Alyrica Myer vs Nicole Brown- Nicole Brown wins via TKO due to strikes 2:47 Round 2 (145lbs)
Johnny Odisho vs Eddie Lopez- Eddie Lopez wins vis Triangle choke 1:54 Round 1 (155-Title)
Kyle Casey vs David Garcia- David Garcia wins via Unanimous decision (135lb-Title)
Gilbert Shamoun vs Sinatra Pool- Sinatra Pool wins via decision (170lb-Title)
Angelo Walsh vs Khuseyn Kurbanov- Khuseyn Kurbanov wins via decision (125lb- Title)

FEATURED PRODUCT: Hayabusa Chikara Recast Shorts

Hayabusa Chikara Recast Shorts

About Staff

Chicago's MMA - The definitive place for Chicago MMA news, video, interviews, results and more.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *